Painted Mugs

2 Jun

20120525-122926.jpg

Every now and again I (J) find myself with some spare time and itch to do something crafty. After some pinspiration I decided I would attempt painting my own mugs. I hit up my local Wally World for some inexpensive white coffee mugs. And I ran by Michael’s to get some porcelain paint. I found some inspiration from a design on a friend’s wedding invitation and began free-handing a design. I’ll have to say I’m quite satisfied with the finished product and it was an easy and relatively quick process (see below). I look forward to creating a set of unique mugs that don’t cost an arm and a leg. And maybe I’ll even be ambitious enough to start making them as gifts for friends!

How-To: Mug Painting
1. Buy cheap mugs in your choice of color.
2. Buy porcelain paint from your local craft store. It comes in tubes or pens – take your pick. One allows you to draw raised lines while the other is well suited for painting on with a brush or filling in spaces. It also comes in a variety of colors.
3. Paint your design. You can free hand or use a stencil, it’s entirely up to you! If you happen to make a mistake you can easily clean off the paint if you act quickly – a cotton swab or paper towel should do the trick. Be careful though the paint sets pretty quickly.
4. Let your mug dry overnight (~24 hours).
5. Bake in the oven according to the directions that came with the paint. I believe their are some kinds that don’t require a bake to cure the design but I couldn’t find it in my local store.
6. You are finished! Your mug is now dishwasher safe and microwave safe. It’s food safe too so you could actually draw on plates or bowls if you wanted other matching dish wares.

I hope you take the time to make your own personal mug creation. Somehow my coffee tastes better out of my favorite new mug!

Leave a Reply

