Fresh Strawberry Oatmeal Muffins… For One

25 May

20120525-094247.jpg

Over the last few months we (Laura and Jess) have been hosting our friends most Friday mornings for delicious food, coffee and conversation. It may, in fact, be the highlight of my week. I look forward to being with friends and to creating new dishes to share with those friends. It also means I generally loathe those Fridays when I (Jess) am traveling.

This week I am home visiting family in Florida where the strawberries are plentiful. I decided to make some fresh strawberry muffins. Unfortunately, I am the only one home today to enjoy them so fresh strawberry muffins for one it is! Thanks to some pinspiration I was well on my way with a flourless muffin base. I made some tweaks to this Dashing Dish recipe based on what I had in the pantry and the flavors I thought would make these muffins something special. This recipe is definitely a keeper! The texture and flavors were spot on and they are relatively healthy since there is no oil/butter and very little sugar in the recipe.

Fresh Strawberry Muffins

Makes: 6 Muffins

The Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup low-fat plain yogurt
  • 3 tbsp pumpkin (or 1 egg)
  • 1/4 cup packed brown sugar (or you could use honey)
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg (or to taste)
  • 3/4 cup chopped strawberries

The Method:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Spray 6 muffin cups with non-stick spray.
  2. Place all of the ingredients (except strawberries) into a food processor. Process until smooth. You can use a blender but I’d recommend processing the oats first, then adding the remaining ingredients. You can also leave the mixture a little lumpy if you’d prefer it to be more oatmeal like.
  3. Fold in strawberries.
  4. Divide evenly into muffin cups. Bake for 10-12 minutes until lightly golden brown on top.

What I learned:

Sometimes you find recipes that sound good, but not great. Don’t be afraid to experiment with recipes! I added pumpkin because I needed a binder to replace the egg that I didn’t have. I don’t like using sugar substitutes so I went with brown sugar for some added flavor. I also used less sugar because I don’t like muffins to be overly sweet. I thought the recipe was lacking some spice so I added vanilla extract and nutmeg to give them a little more flavor. The result was a delicious muffin that will also freeze well for mornings when I’m in a hurry. I wrap my in plastic wrap and them throw them in freezer bags. They are usually defrosted by the time I get to work or you can throw it in the microwave for 10 seconds and enjoy a piping hot morning treat!

Leave a Reply

